You are here

New Faces Join the Board

Posted in: 

After a region wide call out the members of Wheatbelt NRM appointed two new faces as Board directors at the AGM last week.

Chris Marris describes himself as an ‘aging young farmer’ and has a passion for the land he farms with his wife and 3 boys in Quellington. With his experience in marketing and communication Chris aims to help Wheatbelt NRM engage, work and connect with the communities of the Wheatbelt.

Helen Shanks is an active member of the Toodyay community and brings 25 years’ experience in leadership across government, non government and community organisations. Helen has extensive experience in Aboriginal engagement. In a previous life Helen developed youth programs and collaborative programs with the Pilbara Aboriginal Medical Services and currently volunteers with the Noongar Kaartdjin Aboriginal Corporation in Toodyay.

After the AGM the Board reappointed Debra Rule to the role of Chair for a second year and Chris Wyhoon continues as Deputy Chair.
At the AGM Debra thanked retiring Director, Sarah Hyde from Wickepin for her contribution to the Board over the past three years.

As Debra said in her report to Members

“We are all very excited about the future of Wheatbelt NRM and the difference we can make to a healthy Wheatbelt environment.”

Subscribe to our e-newsletter and keep up to date on current events, partnership opportunities and NRM in the Wheatbelt.